top of page
Buscar
  • Foto do escritorLEVeg

LEVEg around the world! New series out!

Today we are debuting our new series "LEVEg around the world". Our team members will share their experiences abroad. In our first chapter, MSc. Cassy Rodrigues shared with us her first International Conference experience as a post-graduate student. We hope you enjoy it!


Text by Cassy Rodrigues


Cassy Rodrigues in South Africa


I am glad to share with you my experience at an international conference. For us, young scientists, conferences are important moments to establish our network. Besides, it is an opportunity to show our work to the world. In March of this year, I could finally live this experience. So, let me tell you about my first international conference. Indeed, it was several first times for me. My first international travel, flying for several hours and presenting a speech in English. Not to mention the incredible safari experience (subject to another conversation). Everything was just fantastic!

At the beginning of 2020, the International Savanna Science Network Meeting happened in Skukuza, South Africa. This is a scientific event for researchers working on the conservation and ecology of savannas around the world. Thus, there we went! My advisor, lab colleagues, and I formed the "LEVeg" caravan.

I believe that the Savanna Meeting is a great conference for premiers. There, I felt that people were friendly and accessible. During the day, we had talks, many work presentations, and knowledge sharing about several topics. It was a deep dive into science, and it is impossible to emerge as the same researcher after this experience.

In the evening, delicious dinners were served, prepared by local communities, providing us an amazing privilege of trying and learning more about the local kitchen and cultural aspects of the region. However, the meals were just a little part of the nice evenings. This, after all, were valuable moments to share information with colleagues and listen to the reference researchers talking about their amazing work and experiences.



I confess that my first time at an international conference was challenging. But what is life if not challenges set? With all my limitations, I presented one study developed during my master's degree in fire frequency. I could exchange knowledge, and at the same time, I could expand my contacts. I’m very proud of my participation at the conference!

In summary, I can say that it was an extraordinary experience and provided me with a large professional development, as well as amazing memories from this great trip to South Africa.


Find us on twitter @LEVeg_Unesp


19 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
bottom of page